Why Did We Stop Dreaming?

Dreamer

20 Tips from a Self-Made Billionaire that Will Get You Dreaming Again!

I recently attended a wealth building workshop, and this question was posed to the crowd by the speaker: Why did we stop dreaming?

With blank stares, we all sat there scratching our heads, trying to muster up visions of our own dreams that have long been hidden, buried and locked away somewhere. Sure, we all have dreams…don’t we? He wasn’t talking about just any old regular day dreaming though – he meant real life actionable dreams. The types of dreams that have sparked innovation, industrialization, technology and cultural movements throughout our history. The types of dreams that were dreamed by the greatest thinkers, scientists, artists, visionaries, and leaders throughout history. These were ordinary people like you and me, mere mortals who became legendary as they shaped the world through their contributions to art, science, technology, politics, and spirituality. They lived their dreams.

I sat there thinking really hard, trying to remember the old dreams I used to dream – before my career, marriage, children and ministry responsibilities took over. Don’t get me wrong, I thank God for well-paying employment, my loving and devoted husband, my healthy, beautiful children, and my fulfilling and important ministry work. But in that moment, I was struggling to resurface those dreams I used to dream as a motivated, energetic, enthusiastic, sky is the limit, on fire, young 20-something.

I honestly couldn’t think of one…not one. But then after a demonstrative exercise where a few brave attendees took the stage and shared their “life goals and dreams”, I quickly realized what our facilitator was alluding to. Person after person stepped up to the mic and talked about the “dream” home they wanted to someday live in, the “dream” vacations they wanted to take, the land and real-estate they wanted to acquire, and I couldn’t help but think: boy, do we have some, for lack of a better term,  “shallow dreams”. I also noticed that nearly every person’s dream was identical. His point was starting to ring in my spirit.

He stated boldly (and I’m paraphrasing): Christians amaze me, you talk about how powerful God is, you confess that you can do all things through Christ who strengthens you, but yet you aren’t harnessing any of that power or strength to really change the world. Christians should be running this country. We live in a great land of wealth and freedom, as Christians, we must pass on a great gift to the nation. The future of America can fall into the hands of bible believing Christians. But will it? I challenge you to create 100 great business leaders in the next decade! Are we going to continue to mouth clichés or get something done?

Wow, I thought humbly, he’s absolutely right!

Did you ever notice that most of our heroes are people from history? Sure, we do have our modern day greats who have made significant contributions to our culture and society, but they seem to be fewer and further in between these days. Looking at the many areas of dullness in our generation, I’m left to wonder, what has changed since the days of old? As Christians, why aren’t we responding? Why don’t we dream anymore? We seem to only care about the immediate moment, and we often look at dreaming as a waste of time.

Dreaming isn’t a waste of time — he shouted —  it makes you grow!

Next he told us to add up everything that we own, subtract what we owe, and then divide that by how many years we’ve worked. The total is what you’ve sold your life for…OUCH!

Then he hit us with the big whammy. He said (and I’m paraphrasing again): God could have put you in any other place in the world, during any other time frame in history. But he put you here, in America, in the 21st Century!

In that instant I experienced my Ah Ha! moment (thanks Oprah!).

To think, I could have been born during a time where the color of my skin and/or the fact that I’m a woman was legal and moral justification to discriminate against me.  I could have been born into slavery, or in an impoverished third world country, or in a place where I couldn’t openly worship Christ for fear of persecution and death. But I wasn’t.

The fact is, we are blessed to live in America in this day and age. Yes our economy is strained, but there is certainly still opportunity available in leaps and bounds. Yes, racism and sexism are still a part of our society, however we can’t deny the civil divides that have been shattered over the years. Yes, Christians still face various forms of religious scrutiny and persecution, but nonetheless, we are able to lift our arms and our voices and worship our loving Savior with freedom and liberty.

So you would think that with all this opportunity available, that the dreams of today would be even bigger than the dreams of yesterday, right? Not so much.

And let me be clear here, I am in no way suggesting that I am any better than any of the shallow dreamers people I mentioned earlier, because I too shared the same dreams as my fellow conference attendees. I too have been indoctrinated into upholding the same measures of success: go to college, land your dream job, pay your bills on time. (This success story of course is coupled with the white picket fence, annual family vacations, and you guessed it, saved up college tuition for your children so they can follow in the same fashion).

The idea of truly achieving your God given destiny and purpose, influencing the masses or even changing the world for God’s sake just seems like too much of a fairy tale for most (including myself when I first entered this workshop) – certainly not the attainable, actionable dreams of regular every-day people! Right?

So what makes the great, great? A sense of destiny! If you look at this biblically, God certainly predestined those he called. He put life goals on people. To name a few bible greats…Nehemiah’s life goal was to rebuild the walls of Jerusalem, God commissioned John the Baptist to pave the way for the coming Christ, Moses  was appointed to lead the Israelites out of Egypt, and Noah’s life purpose was to preserve humanity and every living creature via an ark. The bottom line is, God has given each of us life goals to achieve – in other words – purpose.

I believe that we each have an amazing, God given purpose, and the awesome God that we serve is just waiting for us to dare to “dream” it, to believe it and step out in faith, to reach out for it and grasp it – it’s certainly within reach! I believe that God will not give you a dream that he will not give you the ability to achieve.

I should have probably mentioned earlier that this particular speaker wasn’t your average conference presenter. Now a days there are many out there who’ve managed to create a lucrative living out of reading books, and then for a fee, regurgitating the information back to people who either didn’t have the time to, or didn’t care to do the reading on their own. No, this was a legit, “practice what he preaches”, self-made billionaire (his net worth is 4 billion to be exact!).

An illiterate bricklayer, who at the age of 26 began his journey to becoming an International Business Statesman, and owning his own gold company. Now at the age of 82, Sir. Peter J. Daniels tours the world to speak to people about his successes and help them create a blueprint to achieve entrepreneurship and wealth. Did I mention that he speaks at churches on his own dime, footing the bill for his own travel expenses, and doesn’t take a penny from the churches or the attendees? He is a renowned philanthropist and he upholds his obligation as a Christian to share his God-given wisdom, business savvy and nearly 60 years of business experience with other Christians.

So needless to say, every person in attendance at this workshop was hanging on to Dr. Daniel’s every word. Including me, and I am forever changed as a result of the pearls of wisdom he shared with us.

Here is a snippet of some of the key things that I walked away with. I hope it will bless you, as it sure blessed, encouraged and motivated me!

The Laws of Success – 20 tips from a Self-Made Multi-Billionaire

  1. Know what you want to achieve and pay the full price. Success has a price: sacrifice and commitment. Whatever you chose to do, know it, saturate yourself in it, do it well.
  2. Define your goals and set out your strategy for achieving them.
  3. Create a master plan and take it step by step. Don’t begin the next step until you have finished the previous step.
  4. Mastery over procrastination. Dreams don’t work unless you do. Hope is not a strategy; you have to infuse your life with action.
  5. The greatest ability is responsibility.
  6. Enthusiasm creates energy and courage. Enthusiasm changes the world.
  7. You can change your life by developing new habits. Create new, productive habits.
  8. Develop a positive mental attitude. Spend your energy on turning problems into solutions. Solve your problems; don’t expect not to have any problems.
  9. Handle your emotions. Emotion is not subject to reason; it’s subject to your action. Learn to handle criticism. Criticism has no power, you give it power.
  10. Hand to the plow and don’t look back. Your persistence is the greatest measure of what you think about your self-worth.
  11. Worry is the greatest robber of energy. What worries you, masters you.
  12. Successful people make decisions quickly and change them rarely. Most people don’t want to make decisions because they don’t want to be responsible for them.
  13. Spend money on your brain.
  14. When you understand that there is pain in success, you will be able to tolerate it. Endure the pain and get the job done.
  15. Don’t lose our family in the process.
  16. Don’t let unsuccessful people mentor you. Find people that have successfully accomplished what you want to accomplish and learn from them.
  17. Be kind to people on the way up.
  18. Keep yourself fit and healthy. When your body is finished, your work is finished.
  19. Build spiritual reserves.
  20. DO IT NOW!!!

I cry out to God Most High, to God who will fulfill his purpose for me. — Psalm 57:2

Peace and Blessings,

Tiffany ❤

photo credit: symphony of love via photopin cc

 

Linked up on:

Coffee-for-Your-Heart-150

new-whimsical-wedSandra Heska King - Still Saturday
Renewed Daily - Recommendation Saturday

Epic Mommy Adventures
 photo ThisMommasMeanderingMondays_zps5366bef9.jpg
Epic Mommy Adventures
Darling Dame

17 thoughts on “Why Did We Stop Dreaming?

  1. Fantastic! Clearly we all need to dream again intensely with focus on our purpose. Thanks for sharing, now understand why the Lord led me to ask you to lead Prison Ministry on defining life goals. Good stuff.

    Like

  2. Very thought-provoking and inspiring! “Fixing” (I’m Southern 🙂 ) to print out the 20 points above and tape by this computer that I sit at a LOT, it seems 🙂
    Just skimmed over the Paleo post and that’s an inspiring one also.
    And best wishes with your blogging…I’m just a few weeks ahead of you…no wonder I’m at the computer a lot these days. 🙂

    Like

  3. When we are young we dream about the future and what it will be like, but as we get older and we can’t make those dreams real for one reason or another, why is it so hard to let go? How can we move on with life? How can we let those dreams go away without hurting us anymore?

    Like

    • Interesting question. I certainly don’t claim to have all the answers, but I believe that with God, all things are possible. I believe if you’re still here on this earth, it’s not too late to pursue your dreams. Maybe the dreams that “hurt” the most are the ones that we shouldn’t give up on. But on the other hand, and more importantly, we have to also consider that maybe some of our dreams just aren’t Gods will for us. When you live for Christ, you have to be willing to surrender your will for His. We have to make sure our “dreams” line up with His plan. In my opinion, speaking only for myself, if realize that something just simply isn’t God’s will for me, I pray for a changed heart and mind. God can change our desires if we ask Him to. The bible says that God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases him (Philippians 2:13).

      Like

  4. New to your blog…stumbling happily from SDG. So glad I did. Thank you for a wonderful message linking our dreams and God’s purpose. We really are a blessed people here in America in the 21st century! It is certainly important to find out God’s call on our lives and then to live it out through many avenues…which can include our dreams, talents, etc. I think fear which goes with emotion and worry mentioned above as well as a feeling of inadequacy keeps me in trouble, or keeps me from pursuing dreams. However, I have seen God change me, give me courage and even just hold me when I said yes to him. Great post!

    Like

    • Thank you for your comment, and I’m glad you enjoyed the post! You are so right, fear is a big stumbling block for all of us. But when we consider that God did not give us a spirit of fear, it loses power. Your testimony of God’s love is beautiful – how He’s changed you, given you courage and held you! Thanks for sharing, and thanks for stopping by. If you liked this post, you may like my most recent one on the 7 Steps to Translating Vision into Action. It’s based on a recent ministry trip to a juvenile detention center. If you find the time, please read it and let me know what you think. I’m a brand new blogger with only a few posts under my belt, so always looking for feedback and conversation 🙂 God bless!

      Like

  5. Pingback: It’s So Nice to Be Noticed! My Liebster Award Nomination | My Salt, His Light

  6. Pingback: What I’d Tell My 20-Year-Old Self | My Salt, His Light

Leave a Reply

