It’s So Nice to Be Noticed! My Liebster Award Nomination

liebster-award

With only 5 blog posts under my belt (well this actually makes 6), I am extremely thrilled and honored to find out that my blog has been nominated for a Liebster Award. Kimberly at The Adventures of “But” Mom nominated me for the award, and I just want to extend my sincere appreciation and a very loud, ear-drum shattering “Thank you sooo much!” to my new blogging buddy!

thank-you-clothesline-752x483

Basically, this is an online award given to bloggers by other bloggers, and was created to recognize and/or discover new bloggers. It is passed around the blogging community to those who have fewer than 200 followers to help them get noticed and promote their sites and content.

The word “liebster” has several definitions: dearest, sweetest, kindest, nicest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, welcome and sweetheart.

To think that someone thought to nominate my blog is so encouraging, and being noticed by my peers amidst the noisy Internet is a wonderful feeling. Having the chance for my blog to be promoted and shared with others outside of my reach is incredibly appreciated, and I am happy to pay it forward to a few other bloggers here in this post.

Blogging can be a very nerve-wracking experience. Opening your thoughts, opinions and life experiences to others is not easy.  As a newbie, when I publish a post, feelings of “what will they think”, and “will they read it and like it…or even care” flood my mind, and I panic a little inside each time I receive a comment on a post, wondering if it will be negative . Week after week I push past those feelings though, because as I share my personal journey here on my blog — what I refer to as my dash of salt and my single ray of light on this earth — I pray that God will use me to inspire others.  If someone gleans anything from my words – a smile, a tip or trick, a life lesson, a drive to grow deeper in faith – then my efforts are all worth it.

So now to it…

ar-liebblogaward

A few Google searches revealed varying rules for the Liebster Awards. Some say nominate 3 or 5 fellow bloggers, others say nominate 11. Since I am a newbie, and don’t have a very vast network yet (and most of the people who I follow have more than 200 followers), I am going to nominate 5 sites that I’ve come across and think are great. So, without further ado, here is my list of blogs that I nominate for the Liebster Award.  I encourage you to check them out!

My Nominee List:

This Is Motherhood

Faith Is Found, Faith Is Alive

A Town Girl’s Life

How to Make the Sun Shine

Blue Shutters

 

The Rules for Nominees:

Link back to the blogger that nominated you.

Post 3 random facts about yourself.

Answer the questions your nominator asked.

Create 11 new questions for your nominees (bloggers who have less than 200 followers).

Link your nominees to your post and tell them.

 

3 fact

1.  I was once a single parent.

2.  I love to salsa dance.

3.  My car and my desk are embarrassingly messy.

My Answers to the 11 Questions I was Asked:

1.  What is your favorite smell?

Chanel Chance

chanel

2.  Where do you see yourself this time next year?

Launching me and hubby’s family business…Lord willing!

3.  How many licks does it take to get to the tootsie roll center of a tootsie pop? (Just kidding)

According to Ask.com, a study performed found that it actually takes 452 licks, on average to get to the center of a Tootsie Pop. If you lick harder, it will take less licks, while if you lick lighter, it will take more licks. Ha! 🙂

4.  Ok, seriously (well as serious as this blog gets anyway) What is one cause you support & believe in?

Good question! I actually am part of an annual back to school drive that provides book bags and school supplies to inner city youth. You can read more on my “Causes I Support” page, and please consider making a $15 donation to support a child (or feel free to sponsor more than one child!) When you think about how often you waste $15, maybe on a week’s worth of coffee, a lunch out at a restaurant, etc., putting that $15 towards supporting a child’s successful start to the academic year is a worthy sacrifice.

You can make your $15 donation here to support a child (or more). Thank you so much and God bless you!

5.  What is your favorite blog post you have written?

Wow, that’s a hard one. They each are special to me for different reasons. I guess I’d have to say Why Did We Stop Dreaming, since it was my first post.

6.  What is your favorite season?

Spring – love the weather, the flowers, and my birthday is in May!

7.  Rain or Snow?

Rain. It’s great for sleeping and cozying  up  indoors, not as dangerous to drive in as snow, and once it’s over, it’s over – no shoveling or plowing required!

8.  What is your favorite sandwich?

Grilled chicken, with roasted peppers, fresh mozzarella, lettuce, pesto, and balsamic vinegar on ciabatta bread. (but I don’t eat sandwiches anymore since I’m on a Paleo diet)

9.  What is your favorite childhood memory?

My fondest childhood memory is watching Saturday morning cartoons with my Dad. I remember every Saturday morning we’d watch Alvin & the Chipmunks while my mom was at work (she was a bank teller at the time). I remember eating strawberries & cream or peaches & cream oatmeal while we watched, and to this day, those little instant oatmeal packets bring back this wonderful memory. I also remember my Mom would bring home pork roll, egg and cheese sandwiches for lunch every week. There was a little deli next door to the bank she worked at, and she always made a stop on the way home.

10.  Favorite vacation spot?

I haven’t had the pleasure of going on many exotic vacations. Did Vegas, did Florida several times (Orlando, Miami, Ft. Lauderdale), and also a cruise to Mexico, and several U.S. road trips to various spots – nothing very epic. I envision trips to Jamaica, Dominican Republic and a European tour in the near future, so I’ll have to get back to you after that and let you know which was my favorite 😉

11.  Favorite SuperHero?

Jesus Christ

12.  (since #3 doesn’t count) What is the best part of blogging?

Discovering new awesome, talented, interesting, crafty, and knowledgeable blogging friends. Engaging and getting   feedback from people is also really great. All the love and encouragement is so wonderful, and it means a lot to know that my words have an impact.

 

My 11 Questions for the Nominees:

  1. When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?
  2. What is the one accomplishment you are most proud of?
  3. Why do you blog?
  4. If you could do it all over again, what’s one thing you would do differently?
  5. If someone gave you a million dollars, what’s the first thing you would buy?
  6. If you could have 3 wishes granted, what would your three wishes be?
  7. What is your favorite cuisine?
  8. What is your favorite music genre?
  9. What is the one life lesson that you’d like to pass down to future generations.
  10. What is one goal you’d like to accomplish in the next 5 years.
  11. What do you enjoy doing in your spare time (other than blogging)?
11 thoughts on “It’s So Nice to Be Noticed! My Liebster Award Nomination

    • Awww, thanks Phil Phil!!! Love you too, and you sure are doing your thing in the fitness world! You are a positive role model as well, you’ve beaten all the odds and God is blessing you 🙂

      Like

  1. Pingback: What I’d Tell My 20-Year-Old Self | My Salt, His Light

Leave a Reply

